Mastery Assessment Award

Because no nationally standardized assessment for teachers of children of poverty currently exists, a mastery test has been developed by the Center of Excellence. The assessment is administered each semester to Francis Marion student teachers at the conclusion of their final semester of preparation. This data is provided to School of Education program committees and faculty so that it may be used to inform programmatic changes that will support the ever-increasing success of FMU graduates as teachers of children of poverty.

Prizes are awarded to the student teachers who attain the highest scores each semester on the Mastery Assessment and they are featured in Center of Excellence publications.

Mastery Assessment Award Recipients

Spring 2022

Melinda Prescott, Madeline Taylor, Emily Viering

Fall 2021
Hillary Walls

Fall 2019
Ryan Hilbourn, Victoria Tableau, Bailey Hudson, Rachel Rhodes

Spring 2019
Jacqueline Hancock, Jennifer Price, Daphne Converse, Allison Floyd

Fall 2018
Natalie Hilley, Kaci Willis, Austin Halliburton

Spring 2018
DeNisha Pooler, Kaylan Bouchette, Jessica Craig

Fall 2017
Shelly Smith, Hampton Johnston, Walter Smith

Spring 2017
Fran Langston, Angelica Rainwater, Allie Elvington

Fall 2016
Stephanie Roberts, Lindsay Smith, Jill Webster

Spring 2016
Kristina Chandler, Adrian Jacobs, Katie Gorman

Fall 2015
Morgan Gilbert, Grace Lyman, Tars Gainey, Mary Cox, Ashley Koval, Anna Moore, Altia Hamm

Spring 2015
Katie Grogan, Benton Boyd, Donna Walker

Fall 2014
Carolina Smith, Lyn Sullivan, Macey Owens

Spring 2014
Cristin Richards, Ashley Hall, Elizabeth Graham, Jessica Greenwood, Brooke Hilburn, Christine McKenzie

Fall 2013
Kimberly Davis, Amanda Privette, Cheryl Cottingham

Spring 2012
April Cox, Samantha Pollett, Katrina T. Johannsen

Fall 2011
Cherise Thayer, Patricia Donohue, Vernita Scarborough

Spring 2011
James Smyth, James Jones, Caroline Jowwers

Fall 2010
Brittany Sanders, Kristen Shackelford, Vance L. Evans, Douglas DeLoshier